About 140 Lawyers shortlisted for the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

Bolaji Owasanoye, chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), and Anthony Ojukwu, executive secretary of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), are among 137 candidates shortlisted for the rank of senior advocate of Nigeria.

In a statement on Wednesday, Hajo Sarki, secretary of the legal practitioners’ privileges committee, said the shortlisted candidates were “graded under the category system of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee Guidelines, 2018”.

He said the candidates are those who qualified after the advocate filtration stage and the academic pre-qualification exercise.

While 116 are practising lawyers, the other 21 are academic applicants.

Sarki said the public is at liberty to comment on the integrity, reputation and competence of the candidates.

“However, any complaint(s) presented to the legal practitioners’ privileges committee must be accompanied with a verifying affidavit deposed to before a court of record in Nigeria,” he said.

“In relation to paragraph 12(2) of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee Guidelines, 2018, twenty (20) copies of such comments must reach the LPPC office “not later than 4pm on Tuesday, October 13, 2020.”

Some other lawyers who made the list are Peter Mrakpo, attorney-general of Delta state; Afam Osigwe, former national secretary of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA); Remi Olatubora, former attorney-general of Ondo state; Oyelowo Oyewo, Oyo state attorney-general and commissioner for justice; Babatunde Ogala, a former lawmaker.

31 views0 comments