Buhari decorates new service chiefs with their new ranks.

President Muhammadu Buhari has decorated the new service chiefs with their new ranks at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Chief of Defense Staff, General Lucky Irabor.

In their new ranks, the service chiefs are now General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defense Staff; Lieutenant-General Ibrahim Attahiru Chief of Army Staff; Vice Admiral Awwal Zubairu Chief of Naval Staff and Air Marshal Ishiaka Oladayo Amoo, Chief of Air Staff.

President Muhammadu Buhari charged the newly-promoted service chiefs to secure the country in the next few weeks.

Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Ibrahim Attahiru.

The president said it is necessary for citizens to develop the confidence to go back to their farms, adding that the military chiefs must “identify competent officers who will secure the country”.

“During our four-hour security meeting, on Tuesday, I had taken the responsibility as Commander-in-Chief for you to go out into the field and secure the country,” he said.

Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Awwal Zubairu.

“You have got a few weeks to do that because by the rainy season, we expect people to develop confidence and go back to the land.

“So that we don’t get into trouble by being away from the field and therefore unable to produce enough food for the nation.”

Buhari noted that he had accepted responsibility for their actions in the field, while urging the new service chiefs to identify competent officers who will secure the country.

“I have accepted responsibility for your actions in the field; it’s up to you to identify your competent officers irrespective of seniority and paper qualification and deploy them to make sure that we secure this country.

Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Ishiaka Oladayo Amoo.

“We all look forward to you to perform and I as the Commander-in-Chief, I am backing you hundred percent, and I expect you to effectively deploy your officers and men to secure the country.”

The decoration ceremony was witnessed by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo (SAN); the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha; Defense Minister, Major-General Bashir Magashi (Rtd); and the Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari.

The new service chiefs were accompanied to the State House by their wives and other senior officers of the Nigerian Armed Forces.

12 views0 comments