Buhari seeks approval for eight new Justices of the Supreme Court.

President Muhammadu Buhari, is seeking the nod of the Senate for the approval of the appointment of eight new Supreme Court justices.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, who disclosed this at the plenary on Tuesday, said the appointment was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

Buhari said his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees are Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South)

Buhari, also on Tuesday, sought the Senate approval for the appointment of non-career ambassadors designate namely Muhammad Manta (Niger) and Yesufu Yunusa (Yobe).

The nominees according to Buhari, would replace Air Commodore Peter Gana and Alhaji Yusuf Muhammad who were earlier nominated to the Senate for confirmation.

24 views0 comments