Manchester City football club Sunday night lifted the Carabao cup for the 7th time as champions which is a step less than the Liverpool record as they slammed hard fighting Aston Villa club 2-1 in the finals played at the Wembley Stadium in London.

Although Villa were the maiden winner of the trophy in the 60 year old story of the competition when they lifted it in the 1960/61 season when they defeated Rotterham United 3-2 in the two legged matches, they were so dejected losing the match.

Retaining the trophy, Sergie Aguero who played with injuries opened scoring in the 20th minute before Hernandez increased it to two at 30 minutes but their 3rd goal was disallowed by the VAR and then Samatta raised the hopes of the Villa squad when he fired home a classical header at 41 minutes. All the goals scored in the first half were through headers.

Normally the winning team qualifies for the Europa League but Villa may play the Europa league if the Man City team now second on the league table end up that way and if the EUFA ban on City stands.

A total of 92 clubs participated in the competition that is well known to present giant killers every year.

The competition has little shine because of the prize money attached to it. A total of 200,000 pounds will be shared between four clubs, winner takes 100,000 while the runners up carts home 50,000 and each of the semifinalists, Leicester and Manchester United Clubs will receive 25,000 each. This is far from the F. A. Cup where the winner pockets 3.6m pounds and the 3rd round winners take 135,000 pounds each.

Manchester City still popped wine for their first trophy of the season.

- Eniola Olatunji.

11 views0 comments